|Lenght||80 km trekking - 82 km bike|
|Difference in altitude||1680 meters|
|Difficulty||Stage 1: medium - Stage 2: easy- Stage 3: difficult- Stage 4: difficult|
|Bike user||Stage 1: expert - Stage 2: basic- Stage 3: expert- Stage 4: expert|
|Trekking user||Stage 1 - 2: touristic - Stage 3 and 4: excursionist|
|Suitability||Unsuitable for children|
|Bike type||Stage 1 - 2: city-bike, MTB, gravel - Stage 3 and 4: MTB, gravel|
|Route duration||trekking: 22:32 hours - bike 6:48 hours|
The Great Ring of the “Borghi delle due Valli” is a route, of about 80 km that can be covered either on foot or by bicycle, which, crossing hills of olive groves and vineyards, woods and plains, leads to a stop in the villages of Bettona, Cannara, Collazzone and Torgiano.
Departing from the center of Torgiano (PG), it starts at La Torre parking lot (there is an electric car charging point in the car park) near the Baglioni Tower which is the symbol of the medieval village of Torgiano.
Surrounded by a suggestive landscape setting, Torgiano is an ancient fortified village, a few kilometers from Perugia, located on the top of one of the hills overlooking the valley where the Chiascio joins the Tevere river. The etymological meaning of "Torgiano", from "turris amnium", is "tower of the rivers" and it emblematically represents how much the Tevere and Chiascio have influenced not just the territory geological setting, but also the historical, urban and economic development of Torgiano.
From Torgiano you get to Bettona, a hamlet with Etruscan origins and a typically medieval layout, is today one of the “Borghi più belli d’Italia” (most wonderful italian villages), in Umbria. Bettona charmes, not only from the cultural urges it is dotted with, but also for the environmental richness it is surrounded by. In fact, a luxuriant and splendid vegetation covered by olive groves, vineyards and woods frames the village.
Leaving Bettona, head towards Cannara. Located in the heart of Umbria, where St. Francis "preached to the birds", Cannara (Pg) takes its name from the word "canna" (reed), as it stands on a marshy area full of reeds, along the left bank of the Topino river, in the center of the Umbrian Valley, right in front of Assisi and Spello. The village of Cannara is surrounded by medieval walls, three sites trace the life of San Francesco, starting with the church of San Francesco, which keeps alive the memory of the Institution of the Third Order and the Majolica-Landrini palace, inside which there is the Sacro Tugurio (hovel), where Francesco lived during his visits to Cannara.
The third site linked to the figure of San Francesco is located about 3 km from the historic center, on the road to Bevagna. This is the famous Edicola di Piandarca (Piandarca Shrine) built in 1926, on the occasion of the 7th centenary anniversary of St. Francis's death, to commemorate the place of the "sermon to the birds", which according to tradition took place in the open countryside, about 1 km from the shrine.
From Cannara continue in the direction of Collazzone. The Collazzone area, crossed by the Tevere river and the Puglia stream, is of great environmental interest: the hills, rich in oak and pine woods, but also in olive groves make the environment healthy and hospitable. The medieval village of Collazzone preserves the essential characteristics of Lombard military architecture, with its walls, remparts, buttresses, still intact towers and small and narrow streets. From the castle walls, it is possible to admire the breathtaking landscape of the Tevere valley, from Perugia to Todi, while remaining immersed in the characteristic Umbrian hilly landscape, made up of woods and cultivated land.